Concealed Handgun Permits

​UPDATE:

  Starting January 12, 2021 until further notice, ACSO will be taking walk-in customers on a limited basis.

As of January 12, 2021, the Sheriff's Office will resume processing walk-in applications and will continue to process permits by appointment (as previously scheduled). We will continue to process renewals and temporary emergency permits pursuant to CRS 18-12-209. 

The process of allowing 15 walk-in customers per day (Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday) for Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP) will start on January 12, 2021. Appointments will no longer be taken. We will still be processing previously scheduled appointments. If you have a previously scheduled appointment, you may also utilize the walk-in process to expedite your application process. The walk-in process will be managed using a waiting list to minimize the amount of time needed to wait to be processed.

The renewal application process will be accomplished by submitting your completed application, copy of your Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado I.D. and a copy of your permit to CHP@Arapahoegov.com. Credit card payment will have to be made by phone once it is determined that your application is complete. You may email CHP@Arapahoegov.com or call the CHP section at (720) 874-3929, for specific instructions or to have your questions answered.

 
(The information below is for when there is no public health risk.)

New, Renewal or Retired Permits


Make sure you can answer all of the following questions before coming in:

  • The firearms training class you took, was it in person? (we can’t accept online classes)
  • Do you have the original training certificate from the class you took?
  • Was the class taken within the last 10 years?
  • Have you completed the new permit application? (Go to https://www.arapahoegov.com/897/Concealed-Handgun-Permits, scroll to the bottom of the page and print off the new permit application, fill it out, don’t sign it)
  • Do you have your Colorado Driver’s License in your possession?
  • Is the address on your Colorado Driver’s License up to date? (If you do not live in Arapahoe County you will need to get your permit from the county where you reside)

CHP New Permit Applicants, make sure you have the following paperwork with you:

  • Original certification
  • New Permit Application
  • Colorado Driver’s License

CHP Renewal/Out of County Renewal’s, make sure you have the following paperwork with you

  • CHP Permit
  • Renewal Permit Application (we will notarize it here)
  • Colorado Driver’s License
Pricing:
  • For new permits, there is a non-refundable $152.50 processing fee.
  • For renewal permits, there is a non-refundable $63.00 processing fee.
  • There is a $15.00 late fee for any permit that has expired. No permit shall be renewed six months or more after its expiration date and the permit shall be deemed permanently expired.
Payment can be made by cash, check, money order or credit card (we do not accept American Express). 

By law, the sheriff has ninety (90) days from receipt of your application to perform a background check and either approve or deny your request for a concealed handgun permit. It could take up to ninety (90) days to complete the background check and notify you that your permit is ready to pick up. 

Questions


Please visit our Frequently Asked Questions page. Please call 720-874-3929 if you still have questions related to the CHP process. Incomplete documentation may result in your CHP application not being processed. 

*Per state law, if you have an Arapahoe County permit and live in another county, you must renew in the county in which you reside. If you live in Arapahoe County and have a permit from another county, you need to renew in Arapahoe County.

**Please use specific applications for new permits and renewal permits below.

Helpful Forms