Commissioner Nancy Jackson

Serving District 4

Nancy Jackson is serving her third term as commissioner representing District 4, which includes the unincorporated area in north Arapahoe County and portions of the City of Aurora. She was sworn in on January 2019 and her third term expires January 2023. She served as Chair Pro Tem in 2019, Chair in 2021, and is currently serving as Chair in 2022.

As commissioner, Nancy oversees the County Attorney and Commissioners departments. 


Nancy represents the County's interests on a variety of boards and committees including:

  • Arapahoe County Board of Social Services
  • Arapahoe County Housing Authority
  • Arapahoe County Justice Coordinating Committee
  • Aurora Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors (Alternate)
  • Aurora Economic Development Council Board of Directors 
  • Aurora Mental Health Governing Board
  • Boundary Control Commission
  • Colorado Counties, Inc.: Justice & Public Safety; Legislative Committee
  • Forfeiture Board, Office of the 18th Judicial District Attorney (Alternate)
  • Forfeiture Committee, Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office
  • Metro Area County Commissioners
  • National Association of Counties: Large Urban County Caucus, Health Policy Steering Committee
  • Tri-County Board of Health Liaison


Nancy’s primary goal is to represent her constituents and be a voice at the table to promote effective policies that maintain and improve County services. Her priorities include preserving the environment through Open Spaces, encouraging entrepreneurship and livable wage employment opportunities, supporting public safety and criminal justice reform, providing adequate behavioral health services, partnering with community and civic organizations and educating the community about County services.


Nancy has a Ph.D. in Communication, a Master’s degree in Counseling and a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Colorado. She has taught in various positions at several colleges and community colleges, including five years as an assistant professor at Clemson University and 20 years at the Community College of Aurora. She wrote and published a number of professional papers during her teaching career. Nancy also established a consulting business in 1996, creating communication programs for major corporations, small businesses and the Armed Forces. She owns a property management company based in Arapahoe County. She is a Colorado native and lives in Aurora. She has three children and three grandchildren.

Government Experience

  • Arapahoe County Commissioner (2011–2014, 2015–2018, 2019-)
    Chair Pro-Tem 2019, Chair 2021 and 2022
  • Colorado Counties Inc. Public Safety and Justice Steering Committee, Chair (2015); Chair General Government Steering Committee
  • Colorado Sexual Offender Management Board
  • Governor’s Court Security Cash Fund Commissioner
  • Governor's Behavioral Health Task Force, Safety Net Committee (Chair)
  • Metro Area County Commissioners
  • National Association of Counties Behavioral Health Subcommittee

Community Involvement

  • Aurora Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors
  • Legislative and Transportation Committees
  • Aurora Mental Health Governing Board
  • Aurora Medical Center Advisory Board member
  • Cherry Creek Schools Leadership Academy

Education/Professional Experience

  • Bachelor of Arts, Psychology, University of Colorado
  • Master of Arts, Counseling, University of Colorado at Denver
  • Ph.D., Communication, University of Colorado