Board of County Commissioners

Board of County Commissioners
Board of County Commissioners

Arapahoe County is committed to fulfilling its mission of enhancing quality of life through exceptional delivery of services and efficient use of public funds. The Board of County Commissioners serve as the legislative, governing and administrative body for Arapahoe County. Commissioners are elected to four-year terms and represent five districts, each divided by population. Board members are:

As a constitutional subdivision of Colorado state government, Arapahoe County can only exercise those powers specifically expressed in statute or the constitution. The Board of County Commissioners oversees county departments, hires the management team, administers county services, adopts ordinances, and approves land use decisions within unincorporated Arapahoe County.

The County’s performance management program – Align Arapahoe – provides data-driven information to help the Board of County Commissioners deliver results consistent with stated mission, values, and statutory requirements.

The Board creates and adopts the annual budget for all departments and elected official offices within Arapahoe County. They also act as the Board of Equalization to handle property tax protests. The Board appoints residents to serve the community on advisory committees and boards. Commissioners also represent Arapahoe County on a variety of regional and national authorities, boards and committees. Visit the commissioners’ individual web pages to see what boards and committees they serve on.

Public hearings are scheduled for 9:30 a.m. the second and fourth Tuesday of each month in the Administration Building’s East Hearing Room and are streamed live on the County website and YouTube channel. Public comment is taken during these meetings.

The Board of County Commissioners holds study sessions on Mondays and Tuesdays as well as regular meetings for county staff updates. These study sessions (except for executive sessions) are open to the public.

View current meeting agendas and materials online. Public meetings as defined by CRS 24-6-402 that constitute a quorum of commissioners are also posted on the online Agenda Center.

Policy Work
The Commissioners regularly engage with local, regional, state, and federal governmental to make sure Arapahoe County’s interests are represented in Washington, D.C. and the state capitol.

Arapahoe County’s 2020 legislative principles describe the county’s underlying interest on specific issues, serving as a consistent guide for the county in developing positions on federal and state legislation, rulemaking, and proactive issue advocacy.

View 2020 state legislation being monitored by Arapahoe County, including positions taken by the Board of County Commissioners.

Get Involved
There are a variety of ways to engage with Arapahoe County and the Board of County Commissioners.