Racial Equity Subcommittee

The Racial Equity Subcommittee was established in 2021 and serves as an advisory group and resource on racial equity in the justice system for the Justice Coordinating Committee, local justice agencies, and underserved communities, through the following:

  • Identify inequities in the local justice system
  • Collect and analyze data on equity issues
  • Develop preventative and rehabilitative strategies to address bias, and recommend these to the Arapahoe Justice Coordinating Committee
  • Develop cultural competency among justice agencies and practitioners
  • Conduct community education  

Information Gathering Session

Come meet the committee and share your thoughts about racial equity in the justice system.

Monday, Sept. 19 | 6 p.m.
Read to Work Aurora
3176 S. Peoria Court, Aurora, 3rd Floor

Share Your Thoughts Online

Can't make the meeting? You can still share your thoughts with us through our online form, anonymously or not.

Share Your Thoughts Now

Members of the Subcommittee

  • Jeff Baker, Arapahoe County Commissioner, District 3, Subcommittee Chair
  • Marlo Alston, Centennial City Councilperson, District 4
  • Brian Arnold, Community Member
  • Tyler Brown, Arapahoe County Sheriff
  • Ron Carl, Arapahoe County Attorney
  • Alison Coombs, Aurora City Councilperson, Ward 5
  • Juston Cooper, Deputy Director, Colorado Criminal Justice Reform Coalition
  • Sarah Ericson, Diversion Director, 18th Judicial District
  • Richard Ferro, Magistrate, 18th Judicial District
  • Errol Flynn, Director of Care Management, Second Chance Center
  • Kevin Foreman, Bishop, Harvest Church
  • Stephanie Grossman-Hinkediker, Case Management Lead, Arapahoe County Pretrial Services
  • Rory Gryniewicz, Director, Centennial Community Transition Center
  • Khalil Halim, Executive Director, Second Chance Center
  • Danielle Harris, Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, AllHealth Network
  • Melina Hernandez, Judge, Arapahoe County Court
  • Nancy Jackson, Arapahoe County Commissioner, District 4
  • Chris Juul, Division Chief, Aurora Police Department
  • Brad Kamby, Manager, Arapahoe County Judicial Services Division
  • David Kaplan, Arapahoe County Public Defender’s Office
  • John Kellner, District Attorney, 18th Judicial District
  • Hassan Latif, Founder, Second Chance Center
  • Jason Lester, Director of Family Support and Services, Colorado Coalition for the Homeless
  • Juan Marcano, Aurora City Councilperson, Ward 4
  • Omar Montgomery, President, Aurora Chapter NAACP
  • Leslie Summey, Community Member
  • Carrie Warren-Gully, Arapahoe County Commissioner, District 1
  • Shay Whitaker, Judge, 18th Judicial District
  • Arapahoe County Criminal Justice Planning Office, Subcommittee Staff